Quail Bhuna

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I’m going to start this post by going right ahead and linking you a book on amazon which I am totally obsessed with! So here’s the book – it’s Curry Easy by Madhur Jaffrey and it’s been out on my desk since I got a few weeks ago because I don’t ever put it away. So here’s the big statistic – I have made THREE recipes from this book since I got it. Three! I’ve never made three recipes from the same cookbook!

For years I’ve dreamed about being able to cook Indian food but never really tried, as I thought it would be such a faff and take such a long time and so many ingredients. Everything I’ve tried so far in this book has been pretty easy, and importantly (for me), pretty foolproof.

This time I made a quail bhuna – not the bhuna curry you might be used to when you get an Indian takeaway, there’s much less sauce and it just clings to the quail. I’ve never cooked quail before but it was reduced to something ridiculous like £1.50 a pack so I gave it a whirl, and it honestly was pretty easy, and tasted really good.

I thought about taking the leftovers to work for lunch the next day, but I thought chewing saucy meat off a bone with my hands might not be a good look for the staff room.

Leave a Comment!

