Double Chocolate Orange Gooey Cookies

IMG_1969 IMG_1991 IMG_2070 IMG_2310

I have been forced to depart from my arty one-word titles so I can tell you about my very exciting new cookie recipe. If there is one thing I will not stand for it is a crunchy cookie. After following a few too many crunchy cookie recipes I decided it was time to make a recipe for glorious gooey cookies, and using a Hummingbird recipe as a base, and after several attempts (look, a picture of every attempt!), I came up with this. If you make them a bit thicker they sort of turn into cookie brownies (brookies? or cownies?) which is alright too.

Happy Cookie-Making and Happy Friday.

RECIPE: DOUBLE CHOCOLATE ORANGE COOKIES (Makes 8 large cookies)

Ingredients:

  • 45g unsalted butter
  • 400g dark chocolate
  • 3 eggs
  • 140g brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons golden syrup
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 75g plain flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • juice and zest from 1/2 a large orange
  • splash of cointreau
  • 100g of white chocolate

Preheat the oven to 220C and line 2 baking sheets.

Melt the butter and chocolate over a pan of simmering water.

Meanwhile, whisk together the eggs, sugar, vanilla extract and syrup, and when the chocolate is melted, add it to the mix.

Add the orange zest and juice into the bowl and mix in. Add flour, salt and baking powder, then mix until it’s all smooth and lovely.

Mix in the splash of Cointreau and mix in the chocolate chips.

Distribute mix on the baking sheets (it might help to put it in the fridge for a little bit first). To make nice even cookies I made rings out of foil about 12cm wide and put the mixture in there.

Bake in the oven for 7-10 minutes (a shorter time makes softer cookies).

6 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Orange Gooey Cookies

      1. Awesome! Going to check it out now and Pin It! I’m not sure if you’re aware of FoodEpix. Add this recipe there. I posted my Apple Pie Pockets on FoodEpix, and got lots of views from it. Thanks for so much for checking out my blog! I am so thrilled to get new followers! Glad you like 🙂

        Like

Leave a Comment!

